• Top Posts

Get Your Tweets Off My Facebook Page: How Twitter is Killing Facebook

The current fad of linking Twitter to the comment page of Facebook has now officially reached the ridiculous phase. My Facebook page is replete with the inanity, irrelevance, and non-sequitors that characterize Tweets, blocking out (unless I care to scroll scroll scroll) comments from friends that are relevant to the friendships I’m trying to cultivate on Facebook.

The irony of this is that the Twits who are spamming Facebook are, of course, my friends, who have assumed – wrongly, sorry – that I come to Facebook to read their Tweets.

All wrong.

Subscription to a Twitter feed should be voluntary. (And to be frank, I have so far not bothered to volunteer.) But if Facebook is to become a Twitter playground, to the detriment of its original goal of facilitating friendship, count me out.

Judging by the reaction by my other friends when I commented about this problem on Facebook, I’m far from the only one. So here’s the fix:  Facebook needs to either include an opt in/out feature for Twitter feeds, or face the defection of users who are getting sick of the force feeding of Tweets that is now frankly completely out of control.  And getting worse all the time.

End of rant. Except for the Twitter version of this rant, which goes like this (for all those who can’t read all those many words above):

@allyoutwits: stop Tweeting on Facebook. Now. Not Interested. Please.